top of page

Archive Events

For 102 years, the Maricopa County Branch of the NAACP has served this community by advocating for economic empowerment, employment opportunities, affordable housing, criminal justice and civic engagement. Each year, the branch hosts its Freedom Fund Dinner and Community Awards celebration of those in our community who are helping build a stronger democracy through civil rights, civic engagement, community leadership, health advocacy and corporate initiatives. 

FF Dinner Save the Date April 28 2023.jpg

The 2023 Freedom Fund Dinner & Community Awards Program will be held virtually on Friday, April 28.

Pre-Show Programming at 6:45 p.m.

Awards Celebration at 7 p.m.

  • Individual tickets are $75 each

  • Sponsorships range $300-$15,000 per level

2023 Honorees

  • Corporate Partner - Nationwide Insurance

  • "Next Gen" Trailblazer - Jevin Hodge

  • "Next Gen" Trailblazer - Mayor Corey Woods

  • Education - Dr. Albert Celoza

  • Civic Engagement - Arizona Coalition for Change

  • Civic Engagement - League of Women Voters of Arizona

download (2).jpg

2022 Honorees

  • Corporate Partner Honoree - Cox Communications

  • Community Pioneer - Mr. David Hemphill

  • "Next Gen" Trailblazer - Mr. Ramses Ja

  • Community Health Advocate - Dr. Michele Halyard & Mr. Marion Kelly

Web Sponsor Icon.png

2021 Honorees

  • Civic Engagement Award - The Racial Justice Task Force, Congregation M'kor Hayim and The Connection Committee of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated Delta Beta Omega Chapter

  • Community Health Advocate Award - Dr. Ed Baker, Jr.

  • "Next Gen" Civil Rights Trailblazer Award - Mr. Jacob Raiford

  • Outstanding Community Pioneer Award - Dr. Gene Blue

  • Corporate Partner Award - Fry's Food Stores

2020 Honorees

  • President's Award - Dr. Warren H. Stewart, Sr.

  • Pioneer Award - Honorable Calvin C. Goode

  • Pioneer Award - Robbin Coulon, Esq.

  • Trailblazer Award - Dr. Larry Johnson

  • Trailblazer Award - Dr. DeShawn Taylor

  • Trailblazer Award - Ms. Lindsay Love

  • Community Service Award - Anti-Defamation League of Arizona

  • Community Service Award - Arizona Center for Disability Law

  • Community Service Award - HeroZona Foundation

  • Community Service Award - Roosevelt School District Governing Board

  • Community Service Award - In Recognition and Memory of Mr. Benny Malone

bottom of page